

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 12

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Second Legislature

Friday, April 3, 1992

The Deputy Speaker took the Chair at 10:00 a.m.

ROUTINE

Presenting Petitions

Ms Calahasen, Hon. Member for Lesser Slave Lake, on behalf of the Hon. Member for St. Albert, presented petitions from 147 teachers regarding a resolution of the Alberta Teachers' Association respecting the Teachers' Retirement Fund.

Mr. Wickman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Whitemud, presented petitions from 122 teachers regarding a resolution of the Alberta Teachers' Association respecting the Teachers' Retirement Fund.

Presenting Reports by Standing and Special Committees

Mr. Day, Chairman of the Special Committee appointed to prepare and report lists of the Members to compose the Select Standing Committees of the Assembly, reported as follows:

Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund Act (15 Members)

Ady (Chairman)EwasiukMjolsnessJonson (Deputy Chairman)FischerOstermanBlackGesellPayneCardinalMitchellTaylorCherryMooreWoloshyn

Law and Regulations (22 Members)

Gesell (Chairman) Evans Nelson Elliot (Deputy Chairman) Hawkesworth Paszkowski Hewes Severtson Ady Barrett Gibeault Shrake Cardinal Laing (Calgary-Bow) Tannas Lund Wickman Cherry Chivers McFarland Zarusky

Legislative Offices (9 Members)

Clegg

Bogle (Chairman)DrobotHylandNelson (Deputy Chairman)FoxSigurdsonAdyGagnonTannas

Private Bills (21 Members)

Black (Chairman) Ewasiuk McEachern Cherry (Deputy Chairman) Gesell Mirosh Bruseker Hewes Musgrove Chivers Hyland Severtson Clegg Laing (Calgary-Bow) Tannas Elliott Thurber Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore) **Evans** Lund Zarusky

Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing (21 Members)

Fischer (Chairman) Fox Roberts Osterman (Deputy Chairman) Gagnon Schumacher Anderson Gogo Severtson Calahasen Hyland Sigurdson Cherry Laing (Edmonton-Avonmore) Stewart Day McFarland Tannas Evans Nelson Wickman

Public Accounts (21 Members)

Pashak (Chairman) Doyle Mjolsness $Moore \,\, ({\rm Deputy}\, {\rm Chairman})$ Drobot Osterman Paszkowski Black Gibeault Bruseker Jonson Payne Calahasen Severtson Laing (Calgary-Bow) Cardinal **Taylor** Lund McFarland Thurber Clegg

Public Affairs (All Members)

Clegg (Chairman) Calahasen (Deputy Chairman)

Sessional Paper 865/92

Notices of Motions

Hon. Mr. Gogo, Deputy Government House Leader, gave oral notice of the following motion:

Be it resolved that the report of the Special Committee appointed March 19, 1992, pursuant to Standing Order 49 be now received and concurred in and that the Committees recommended therein be hereby appointed.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Hon. Mr. Main, Minister of Culture and Multiculturalism:

Return to Order of the Assembly No. 391 asked for by Mr. Decore on June 18, 1991:

Details of the payment of \$34,400 to Hayhurst Public Relations by the Public Affairs Bureau during the fiscal year 1989-90.

Sessional Paper 391A/92

Answer to Written Question 385 asked by Mr. Decore on June 6, 1991:

In all contracts awarded by the Government to FC Communications, did that company take part in a tender call before the work was awarded to that company in the fiscal year 1989-90?

Sessional Paper 385A/92

Answer to Written Question 390 asked by Mr. Decore on June 6, 1991:

Did Hayhurst Public Relations participate in public tender calls with respect to services for a \$34,400 payment by the Public Affairs Bureau during the fiscal year 1989-90?

Sessional Paper 390A/92

Hon. Mr. Orman, Minister of Energy:

Public Utilities Board, Alberta, Annual Report 1991

Sessional Paper 610/92

Hon. Mr. Fowler, Minister of Municipal Affairs, pursuant to the Metis Settlements Accord Implementation Act, cM-14.5, s15, SA 1990:

Alberta Metis Settlements Transition Commission, Annual Report 1990-91 Sessional Paper 88/92

Dr. Elliott, Chairman, Northern Alberta Development Council:

Northern Perspectives, Northern Alberta into the '90s, Conference Summary Report, November 21-23, 1990

Sessional Paper 862/92

Northern Alberta into the 90's, Position Paper 1991, Northern Alberta Development Council

Sessional Paper 863/92

Tourism North 91, Seminar, May 14-15, 1991, Slave Lake, Alberta Sessional Paper 864/92

Mr. Bogle, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Legislative Offices for the Third Session, pursuant to the Election Act, cE-2, s4(3), RSA 1980:

Report of the Chief Electoral Officer on the Little Bow By-election held Thursday, March 5, 1992

Sessional Paper 144/92

Hon. Ms McCoy, Minister of Labour, pursuant to the Individual's Rights Protection Act, cI-2, s18(2), RSA 1980:

Alberta Human Rights Commission, Annual Report 1989-90

Sessional Paper 82/92

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

The following Bills were read a Second time and referred to Committee of the Whole:

- Bill 9 Nova Terms of Service Regulation Validation Act Hon. Mr. Orman
- Bill 12 Natural Gas Marketing Amendment Act, 1992 Hon. Mr. Orman

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 10 Energy Resources Conservation Amendment Act, 1992 – Mr. Payne

A debate followed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 19(1)(c), at 12:30 p.m., the Speaker interrupted the proceedings to put the questions on the following motion.

Consideration of His Honour the Lieutenant Governor's Speech

Moved by Mr. Lund and seconded by Mr. Tannas:

That an humble address be presented to His Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor as follows:

To His Honour the Honourable Gordon Towers, Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Alberta:

We, Her Majesty's most dutiful and loyal subjects, the Legislative Assembly, now assembled, beg leave to thank Your Honour for the gracious speech Your Honour has been pleased to address to us at the opening of the present session.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

Government Motions

7. Moved by Hon. Mr. Gogo, Deputy Government House Leader, on behalf of Hon. Mr. Getty, Premier:

Be it resolved that the Address in Reply to the Speech from the Throne be engrossed and presented to His Honour, the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor by such Members of the Assembly as are Members of the Executive Council.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Gogo, Deputy Government House Leader, that it be called 1:00 p.m., the Assembly adjourned at 12:31 p.m. until Monday, April 6, 1992, at 2:30 p.m.

Title: Friday, April 3, 1992